« Her spontaneity, her audacity and her curiosity make

Nina Vogel an inimitable artist!"

Antoine Laprise

Director and guest-professor at the Université of Québec at Montréal -UQÀM

Born in Brazil, Nina Vogel is a multidisciplinary performing artist.

She began training as a performer by learning to play classical piano at the early age of five. Graced with a lovely soprano voice, Nina then studied opera singing and pursued with drama training at Escola Superior de Artes Célia Helena, in São Paulo.

From 2011 to 2012, she performed on stage under the direction of Bete Dorgam, Eduardo Okamoto, Guilherme Sant’Anna and Dagoberto Feliz. In 2012, clown and stage director Daniele Finzi Pasca selected her from the audience to perform in the Icaro show.

From 2013 to 2014, Nina honed her art during masterclasses with world-renowned theatre professionals, including actors from the Finzi Pasca company, actress Eve Doe-Bruce and musician Jean-Jacques Lemêtre from Théâtre du Soleil de Ariane Mnouchkine, stage director Sarkis Tcheumlekedjian from the Premier Acte company, actress Katharine Stalder from the Pierre Barayre company, stage director Anirudh Nair for the People's Palace Projects, and stage directors Arthur Luanda and André Curti from the Dos à Deux company.

From 2012 to 2016, she researched the work of painter Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, focussing on his circus scene lithographs and his friendships with the women who left a lasting impression on his life.

Puppeteer • Singer

Actress • Director

In 2015, Nina was introduced to the art of puppeteering by visual artist Natacha Belova, during an artist-in-residence workshop in Santiago de Chile. Puppeteering was an utter revelation for Nina. It inspired her to design a human-scale puppet of Toulouse-Lautrec.

The same year, she set to stage her puppet for a range of audiences. She featured her puppet in the interactive performance Rediscovering Lautrec, on the street, during private evening performances and at museums. In 2017, she created the play A night with Lautrec. Her performances garnered her warm public and press reviews.

The quality of her artistic work earned her two scholarships from Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM) in 2017 to further her skills in puppet theatre performance. Artists Dinaïg Stall, Isabelle Chrétien and Antoine Laprise were among her teachers.

Back in São Paulo since 2018, Nina has been designing new puppets that embody other outstanding artists from the past. The puppets will be part of the upcoming ANIMA series of sculptures that Nina will bring to life on stage. She is also working on the design of a two-part show highlighting the suggestive power of songs and the world of puppets: INCANTATORIUM, where incantation is called into motion…

Nina Vogel is not only a multi-talented artist, but an ambassador of Brazil’s vibrant culture on the international scene.

« Nina is a sensitive and honest artist who makes every experience, every learning, an opportunity to explore new facets of her art. She knows how to be fully involved in projects while maintaining a critical perspective and a flawless requirement. Her tenacity is matched only by her kindness and accompanying in her creative journey has been a great pleasure. »

Dinaïg Stall

Director and professor at the Université of Québec at Montréal

« Sa spontanéité, son audace et sa curiosité font de

Nina Vogel une artiste inimitable!  » 

Antoine Laprise

Metteur en scène et professeur-invité à l’UQÀM - Université du Québec à Montréal

Nina Vogel est une artiste multidisciplinaire des arts de la scène native du Brésil. Elle débute sa formation par l’étude du piano classique à l’âge de 5 ans. Pourvue d’une belle voix de soprano, elle poursuit avec l’apprentissage du chant lyrique. S’ajoute ensuite l’art dramatique, qu’elle étudie à l'Ecole Supérieure des Arts Célia Helena à São Paulo.

Entre 2011 et 2012, on la voit sur les planches sous la direction de Bete Dorgam, Eduardo Okamoto, Guilherme Sant’Anna et Dagoberto Feliz. En 2012, le clown et metteur en scène Daniele Finzi Pasca la choisit parmi le public pour participer au spectacle Icaro.

De 2013 à 2014, elle perfectionne son art lors de stages animés par des gens de théâtre de renommée internationale : les comédiens de la compagnie Finzi Pasca, la comédienne Eve Doe-Bruce et le musicien Jean-Jacques Lemêtre du Théâtre du Soleil de Ariane Mnouchkine, le metteur en scène Sarkis Tcheumlekedjian de la compagnie Premier Acte, la comédienne Katharine Spalder de la compagnie Pierre Barayre, le metteur en scène Anirudh Nair pour le People's Palace Projects et les metteurs en scène Arthur Luanda et André Curti de la compagnie Dos à Deux.

De 2012 à 2016, elle mène une recherche sur l’œuvre du peintre Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec et s’attarde aux lithographies de scènes de cirque et aux amitiés féminines qui ont marqué sa vie.

Marionnettiste • Chanteuse

 Comédienne • Metteure en scène

En 2015, elle est initiée à l’art de la marionnette par la plasticienne Natacha Belova au cours d’une résidence artistique à Santiago du Chili. Cette révélation la conduit à réaliser une marionnette à l’échelle humaine de Toulouse-Lautrec.

En 2015, elle met en scène la marionnette et la présente auprès de publics variés dans la performance interactive En Rédecouvrant Lautrec, dans la rue, dans des soirées privées, et dans des musées. En 2017, elle crée la pièce de théâtre Une Nuit avec Lautrec. Ces performances reçoivent un accueil chaleureux auprès du public et de la presse.

La qualité de son travail lui permet de se voir attribuer deux bourses d’excellence par l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM), qui l’accueille pour venir approfondir ses compétences en théâtre de marionnettes. Les artistes Dinaïg Stall, Isabelle Chrétien et Antoine Laprise comptent parmi ses professeurs.

De retour à São Paulo en 2018, elle prépare de nouvelles marionnettes d’artistes illustres du passé. À la suite de Toulouse-Lautrec, elle poursuit ainsi la série ANIMA, des sculptures vivantes animées par elle. Elle travaille aussi à la création d’un spectacle en deux parties autour du pouvoir évocateur du chant et l’univers de la marionnette : INCANTATORIUM, le lieu de l’incantation…

« Nina est une artiste sensible et intègre qui fait de chaque expérience, de chaque apprentissage, une occasion d’explorer de nouvelles facettes de son art. Elle sait être entièrement engagée dans les projets tout en conservant un recul critique et une exigence sans faille. Sa ténacité n’a d’égale que sa bienveillance et l’accompagner dans son parcours de création a été un grand plaisir. »

Dinaïg Stall

Metteure en scène et professeure à l’Université du Québec à Montréal